Skip to main content

Using the Library: About

From the stacks to the databases and beyond!

The Martin Luther King Jr. Library

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Library opened June 23, 2008 at the northeast end of Los Angeles City College near the corner of Willowbrook and Vermont Avenues. The building has three floors with ample lighting and windows, 17 group study rooms, two computer areas, wireless access, study carrel, table, counter and lounge chair seating areas, two library computer classrooms, and two conference rooms.

The MLK Library offers campus users access to a collection of 150,000 books, 130 periodical and newspaper subscriptions, online databases, and microforms. Remote access to online databases is provided for students enrolled in the current semester or session and for faculty.


In 1962, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his "Future of Integration" speech at the Los Angeles City College (LACC) Campus. The new library, which was opened in 2008 was named after Dr. King to honor his legacy. 

“We name this library after, perhaps, a man that gave this country more faith than anybody.  A minister by training, quite literally a man of faith, but also one who taught us to believe, not just in God, but to believe in America and her promise," said L.A. City Council President, Eric Garcetti.

For more information read this press release and Collegian newspaper publication.

Los Angeles Collegian Newspaper Headline: Dr. M. L. King Speaks Today  the front of the Martin Luther King Jr. Library building  Los Angeles Collegian Newspaper    

 

Contact the Library

Contact Us:

Library Services

Reference

The Reference Center is located on the first floor of the library.  It contains Reference books (general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc., and a law collection), 36 student computers, and a print station providing black-and-white printing and copying.  A Librarian is available to answer questions and assist with research.

Phone number is:  (323) 953-4000 ext: 2406

 

Circulation/Periodicals

The Circulation/Periodicals Desk is located on the first floor of the library.  From this desk, you can check out books from the general collection, textbooks, reserve material, and request magazines, newspapers, and microfilm for in house use. Current magazines and newspapers are located on display shelves across from the Circulation/ Periodicals desk with lounge chairs and table seating. 

Phone number is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2395 

 

Printing/Photocopying

Black-and-white photocopy machines are located in the Copy Center across from the Circulation/Periodicals Desk and at the Print Station on the first floor.
Black-and-white printing is available at the Print Stations on the first and second floors. A color copier is available at the Second floor Print Station, as well as a color printer.  For printing and photocopying, you can pay with coins, dollar bills, or credit/debit card.

Copy Center Phone is: (323) 953-4000 ext. 2395

First Floor Print Station Phone is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2406

Second Floor Print Station Phone is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2396

 

Computers / Wireless Access

The building has wireless access and electrical outlets for students bringing in their own computers. On the first floor, the library provides 40 student computers and 1 computer dedicated to online book catalog search. On the second floor, 150 student computers are available. Students must log in to use the student computers and for wireless access.

First Floor Print Station Phone is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2406

Second Floor Print Station Phone is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2396

 

Technical Services

Technical Services is located on the second floor of the library.  This department orders and catalogs the books.

Phone number for Acquisitions is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2401

Phone number for Cataloging is:  (323) 953-4000 ext. 2409, 2404

Borrowing Library Materials

LACC Student Card

LACC Registration/Fee Receipt

*All STUDENTS must present their cub card or current registration receipt + photo identification card  at the circulation desk. 

* Books are checked out for 4 weeks, NO RENEWALS 

*Current textbooks will be available at the Circulation desk for 2-hour check out which cannot leave the library building. Check the catalog for 7-day textbooks. You will need to bring the call number to the circulation desk. 

Review the Borrowing Library Materials Guide for more detailed information

Library 2nd and 3rd Floors

2nd Floor: 150 Computers, Fiction, Short Story, Popular, Paperback & Easy Reading Collections, Children's Books, 000's-400's (Books); 3rd Floor: 500's-900's(Books), Foreign Language Books, Library Classroom 329, Conference Room 330, Group Study Rooms on 2nd & 3 rd Floors

Breakdown

Contact Us:
Library (323) 953-4000 ext: 2400 * Reference (323) 953-4000 ext: 2406 * Circulation/Periodicals (323) 953-4000 ext: 2395
mlklibrary@lacitycollege.edu