The Martin Luther King, Jr., Library at LACC holds over 150,000 print titles and over 200,000 ebook titles. Search the collection by entering keywords, author’s name, title, subject, or ISBN in the box below and pressing the Search button.
Search our Books in the Library Catalog.
When you find a title in our catalog note down the Call Number to locate the physical book in the library (which will be on the spine of the book).
For example, the call number for the book Higher education in the digital age by William G. Bowen is 378.173 B675h.
The call number identifies the location of the book. Here is a breakdown of the call number, line by line:
Read the first line in numerical order as a decimal (e.g. 378.173 comes between 378.17 and 378.18)
The second line is a combination of letters and numbers to further identify the location of the book
Next identify the Catalog Location to find your book in the library.
| Catalog Location | Location in Library | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Stacks | 2nd and 3rd floors |
|
| Reference | 1st floor (behind the reference desk) | The letter “R” will appear before the call number (Ex. The Gale encyclopedia of medicine R 616 G131a4) |
| Reserve desk | 1st floor (where you check out and return books) | If there is no call number and only a class name, that means that it is located at the Reserve Desk and can be checked out for 2-hours for use in the library only (Ex. Rules for Writers ENGLISH 28/101/103) |
| Circulation desk | 1st floor (where you check out and return books) | These books can be checked out for 7-days. You will need the Call Number to request them. (Ex. Rules for Writers 808.02 H115r7) |
| Fiction | 2nd floor | Fiction is organized by author’s last name. (Ex. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros has a call number of C4974h) |
| Children’s Collection | 2nd Floor | Follows same rules of Dewey Decimal call number and Fiction collection, however call number begins with “XZ” |
| New Book Display | 1st floor (by the circulation desk) | This collection is frequently updated |
| Foreign Language | 3rd Floor | Language indicated by letter preceding call number (Ex. C for Chinese, S for Spanish, G for German, etc.) |
For more information on the Dewey Decimal System and how subjects are organized, see the guide page here: http://lacitycollege.libguides.com/libraryguide/dewey
Learn how to access and download from thousands of eBook titles available to LACC students.
Electronic books can be accessed at home and on campus from the EBSCO eBooks database. There are over 200,000 electronic books at your finger tips!
Notes on Using EBSCO eBooks:
1) To search for books type in keywords that describes the material you are searching for such as “capital punishment.” You may also think of synonyms or other phrases and combine them with the OR search operator, such as "capital punishment" OR "death penalty". The quotation marks will search for that exact phrase.
*If you see that your search resulted few materials, look at the subject tab on the left of the screen to see how the system classifies the subject you are looking for. Scholar/authors may name your topic differently. Also, the search looks at the titles and subject of the books rather than within its pages. You may also change the dropdown to TX All Text Fields to search through the full text of the books.
2) You can read and search within the text of the book by clicking PDF Full Text.
3) If you want to download an ebook for offline use, you have to create an account on EBSCO eBooks. Once you have done so, you will check-out the book for 1-2 days. Like above, you are able to search within the text as well.
4) Check User privileges to assess how many pages you are able to print or download from an ebook.
Example:
5) Citation tool can help you cite the ebook (double check the citation as they are automatically generated and there may be errors).
