Library Homepage: Television 1: Home

What You Need To Know.

TV set on a table This guide is intended to help students who are taking TV1 at Los Angeles City College.

The MLJ Jr. Library at Los Angeles City College has a large collection of journals, books and databases that are available to you as a student. This research guide will help you navigate these resources, in addition to providing information on how to cite sources. For more research help, browse our guides in the Research Skills Center.

OneSearch - Search Our Collection - Tabs Broken

Start your research with OneSearch. Search the Library's books, articles and more, all in one place.

Advanced Search

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

Below are links to our most popular Multidisciplinary Databases containing Scholarly/Academic peer-reviewed Journal & Popular Magazine articles.

To see the complete list or to search by subject area, go to our A-Z Database List.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is designed for academic institutions and is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study and contains nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines and 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes over 50 titles in the mathematical and statistical sciences.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Nearly 20,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on important social issues. Plus references, magazines, journals, statistics and more.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Library search platform enables you to search multiple library resources in one place for print books, electronic books, textbooks, articles, and more.
Note that OneSearch does not contain ALL library resources, but searches through and connects you to the majority of our content.

Databases A-Z
For a complete list of all our databases with descriptions, visit our A-Z Database list lacitycollege.libguides.com/az

Top Databases containing Newspapers.

To see the complete list, go to our A-Z Database List

U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Los Angeles Times (1985-current), New York Times (1980-current), The Wall Street Journal (1984-current), The Washington Post (1987-current), and The Chicago Tribune (1985-current).
Los Angeles Times (from 1985 to Date) This link opens in a new window
1985 to present date. Using the ProQuest interface, search and view full-text Los Angeles Times articles.
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-2015) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century
Infotrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Over 2,300 U.S. and international newspapers plus thousands of images, media broadcasts and transcripts. Articles accessible in HTML, MP3 and PDF.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
More than 63 million full-text articles from more than 1,500 newspapers, newswires, plus television and radio news transcripts. Downloadable PDFs for a digital copy of the newspaper articles, including images.

Off-Campus?

Get access to articles, eBooks, videos, and more from anywhere!

Off-campus access is available to current semester/session Students and current Faculty and Staff of LACC.

If you need help with your login contact LACC-TechSupport@laccd.edu.

Students:

Your username is:

First two letters of your first name, plus the

First two letters of your last name, plus the

Last five digits of your student identification number.

Your password is:

The Month and Day of your birthday, as given in the school records, with the form MMDD

Example: A student named John Smith, born on January 26, with the student identification number 881-23-4567, would have

Username: josm34567

Password: 0126

Faculty:

Use your UIA account credentials, also known as your Academic username and password (same login you would use to logon to lab computers). Be aware that your Academic account is different that your other employee accounts.

If you need to confirm or verify if you have a UIA/Academic account, please submit an IT helpdesk request at LACC-TechSupport@laccd.edu.

If you know your UIA/Academic credentials, but experience library database access problems, please contact mlklibrary@lacitycollege.edu.