Skip to main content

Dance 805: History and Appreciation of Dance: Home

Welcome to the Study Guide for Dance 805: History and Appreciation of Dance

This research guide presents resources to help students with their assignments for Dance 805 - "History and Appreciation of Dance." By clicking on the labeled tabs above and exploring the selected resources below, students can find materials quickly, identify specific areas of interest, and get tips and guidance on how to continue searching for relevant books, e-books, and articles, how to format citations in MLA and Chicago styles, and how to avoid plagiarism. 

Dance 805: Course Description

Dance 805 provides a historical perspective of dance from ritual to contemporary theatrical dance forms, focusing on the ethnic, cultural, and ritual forms of dance as it affects and reflects the world in which people live. Primarily, students focus on how dance reflects the historical, social, and political climate of the day. Students consider the impact of dance on the western world and how it has been affected by the different dance traditions worldwide.

Electronic Reference Books on Dance

Resources on Campus

Start Your Research with OneSearch

Start your research with OneSearch. Search the Library's print books, e-books, articles and more, all in one place.

Advanced Search

Onesearch logo magnifying glass text

If you need help with your research, visit us at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the library, call us at 323-953-4000 ext. 2406, or connect with a Librarian via 24/7 Chat.

Dance 805 Course Textbooks

Databases

Databases direct you to a wide variety articles, journals, and periodicals (newspaper and magazines). You should note the name of the database you are using such as "Academic Search Complete" or "Gale Artemis Literary Sources," as EBSCO and Gale are hubs and not the database itself. So when you need a librarian to help you navigate a database they will not know which one you are referring to if you mention "EBSCO" vs. "Academic Search Complete." 

Helpful Links

  • MLK Jr Library
  • The library homepage contains current library hours
  • Campus Map
  • Map of the library's location and extension numbers for LACC departments
  • Wifi Access
  • Steps to connect to campus wifi

Print Books on Dance in the Library Reference Collection

The books listed here are available for reading and research in the library. While they cannot be checked out, they can help you find ideas, narrow your topic, get background information, and conduct preliminary research. You will find them behind the reference desk on the first floor of the library. Note: A few of these titles are also available in e-book format. Check the box in the left column for reference e-books on dance.

Online Reference

Search eBooks

Main Site Navigation

Contact Us:
Library (323) 953-4000 ext: 2400 * Reference (323) 953-4000 ext: 2406 * Circulation/Periodicals (323) 953-4000 ext: 2395
mlklibrary@lacitycollege.edu