Skip to main content

Psychology: Home

The psychology research guide helps with finding resources within the library and databases. As well as how to cite sources using American Psychology Association (APA) Style.

Information

This Psychology research guide highlights reference materials that can provide students with background information on a topic/theory/idea and terms. It also provides tips on how to search for books, ebooks, articles, and cite in APA style by clicking on the designated labeled tab.

Helpful Links

  • MLK Jr Library
  • The library homepage contains current library hours
  • Campus Map
  • Map of the library's location and extension numbers for LACC departments
  • Wifi Access
  • Steps to connect to campus wifi

Databases

Databases direct you to a wide variety articles, journals, and periodicals (newspaper and magazines). You should note the name of the database you are using such as "Academic Search Complete" or "MEDLINE," as EBSCO and Gale are hubs and not the database itself. So when you need a librarian to help you navigate a database they will not know which one you are referring to if you mention "EBSCO" vs. "Academic Search Complete." 

Online Reference

Search encyclopedias and dictionaries for definitions and topic overviews in GVRL

Textbooks

The library carries copies of many of the textbooks needed for your classes. Textbooks are available for 2-hour checkout, 7-day checkout, and in some cases 28-day checkout (check with your professor if they accept earlier editions). Search the catalog below for availability. 

Search for Textbooks in the Library Catalog:

Advanced Search

The 2-hour and 7-day versions are available at the circulation desk on the first floor. The 28-day checkout copies are available in the stacks (2nd and 3rd floor of the library, depending on the call number). If you have any questions, check in with the Librarian at the reference desk!

eBooks

Search eBooks

Main Site Navigation

Contact Us:
Library (323) 953-4000 ext: 2400 * Reference (323) 953-4000 ext: 2406 * Circulation/Periodicals (323) 953-4000 ext: 2395
mlklibrary@lacitycollege.edu