Library Homepage: Communication Studies: Home

Web Resources

Here are other online resources that may be helpful:

Toastmasters International
Toastmasters is a non-profit educational organization that teaches public speaking and leadership skills through a network of meeting locations. They have several chapters in the Los Angeles area which you can find via their website, which also has a variety of useful free resources for public speaking.
TED Talks
Looking for inspiration for your next speech or want to see how the pros do it? Check out some TED Talks! They're brief presentations usually under 18 minutes given by today's most fascinating thinkers and doers.
Public Speaking: The Basics
This website from the University of Pittsburgh gives a good overview of the basics of public speaking, from determining your audience to structuring your speech and more.

Source: libguides.dclibrary.org/publicspeaking

Access thousands of eBooks from our online database, available to LACC students 24/7 (from on or off campus).

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

Authentic Communication by Jeffrey Hannan; Travis Kiger; Ganer Newman
ISBN: 9781617701016
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Authentic Communication is a complete program for anyone interested in speaking effectively in public. It provides instruction and exercises for all aspects of the public speaking process.
Dictionary of Debate and Public Speaking by Leslie Phillips
ISBN: 9781617701009
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
The Dictionary of Debate and Public Speaking contains over 600 terms and concepts associated with debate and public speaking. Designed for debaters, coaches, and judges, its scope is international, and it includes terms from a wide variety of debate formats. The emphasis is practical; entries provide the user not only a detailed definition of each term but also examples of how the term would be used in debate. Definitions are nuanced so that the user can distinguish how the term is defined and used in a variety of formats.
Principles and Types of Public Speaking by Raymie E. McKerrow; Bruce E. Gronbeck; Douglas Ehninger; Alan H. Monroe
Call Number: 808.51 M199p16
ISBN: 9780205456215
Publication Date: 2006-09-26
Speech Communication Made Simple by Paulette Dale; James C. Wolf
Call Number: 808.51 D155s2
ISBN: 0130207977
Publication Date: 2000-01-12

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Nearly 20,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on important social issues. Plus references, magazines, journals, statistics and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database is designed for academic institutions and is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study and contains nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines and 6,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies on more than 335,000 people from around the world and throughout history.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes over 50 titles in the mathematical and statistical sciences.

Databases A-Z
For a complete list of all our databases with descriptions, visit our A-Z Database list lacitycollege.libguides.com/az