Library Homepage: Find Books and Articles: Find Articles

Databases

Databases direct you to a wide variety articles, journals, and periodicals (newspaper and magazines). You should note the name of the database you are using such as "Academic Search Complete" or "Gale Artemis Literary Sources," as EBSCO and Gale are hubs and not the database itself. So when you need a librarian to help you navigate a database they will not know which one you are referring to if you mention "EBSCO" vs. "Academic Search Complete."

Get started with the multidisciplinary databases below, and browse through our 50+ databases in the databases A-Z link.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database which contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Nearly 20,000 pro/con viewpoint essays on important social issues. Plus references, magazines, journals, statistics and more.

Databases A-Z
For a full list of our databases, visit our A-Z Database List.
Databases by Subject
There are specific databases that best cater to the subject you are working on. For this please check LACC's library website---> periodicals/ databases page for a list on subject specific databases.